Being a public librarian

So… I’ve had my librarian position at the public library for about four months now, and I bet you’re all wondering how I’m making out! (hello?  echo!  ECHOooo!!)  Very very well, thanks everyone!  I love it.  I really, absolutely, hundred percent LOVE it.  What a learning experience it has been, and still so far to go I’m sure… but I’ve enjoyed every step along the way.  Working as a public librarian is everything I wanted it to be.  (oh, listen to me gush!)  Some of the super fun and exciting things I get to do:

  • Lots of Reader’s Advisory, with people of all ages, with every interest.  i.e. a teenager looking for “slasher killer” fiction, along the lines of the Friday the 13th movies.  He was a tough cookie to crack.
  • Weeding and collection maintenance.  Not as simple as it seems.  There are some absolutely amazing juvenile and Y.A. books in non-fiction that, sadly, have low or zero circulation, probably just because of their location.  This is a problem, in my humble opinion, one that needs to be given serious attention.
  • Children’s programming.  I have my first solo act in 2 weeks!  I have been assigned Books & Babies in the fall, and (even more exciting) the Hallowe’en party for one of our branches.  I have so many ideas, not sure how I will be able to decide what to keep.
  • Circulation.  Yup, I get to do a bit of circ, being at the branches.  I actually really enjoy circ.  I like being up and busy at the desk, and scanning the books will always be a source of great joy (yeah, laugh if you must).

Do we have “problem patrons”.  Well yeah, of course.  But nothing totally unmanageable yet.  I enjoy a challenge, anyway.  Makes for a more interesting day.  (Am I sickening you yet, with my endless optimism?)  (How about my incessant use of brackets?)

So… public librarian is clearly a role I thoroughly enjoy playing.  I wish there were more full-time positions, like pretty much everyone these days.  Who knows what the future holds, though (oops, there I go again, dripping hope and sunshiney rainbows).  It’s very easy to get discouraged, so I try not to.  Seems like there are so many negative-nancy’s out there as far as the discussion regarding the “future of libraries” is concerned.  Well, I’m done with that.  Long live libraries!  (And long live librarians.)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth Hulan on August 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Long live libraries … and incessant use of brackets!

Leave a Reply

